Almost race day!

image

I’m feeling ready! Training has been going very well in spite of missing some runs when I was sick a couple weeks ago. I’m also still on track to run 100 miles this month in spite of missing a 13-miler.

image

The pictures in this post are from my two 14-milers on the last two Sundays. I ran the Lake Monona loop. Its one of my favorite running routes and I only run it in half marathon training. I was starting just at sunrise both times and got gorgeous pictures.

image

My first attempt at 14 miles was pretty disappointing. I was running a decent pace around 12:10 until I had to stop on a hill in mile 6. I could keep up a good pace when I was running but lost time in many walk breaks. I felt pretty miserable when I finished in 2:57:51. I was also crazy sore for a few days.

image

Going into this past Sunday I was concerned because my legs were still fatigued. I though about shortening the distance. Instead on Saturday I went about like it was race day eve. I tried to limit time on my feet. I made spaghetti and meatballs for dinner. Sunday morning along with cereal I had some yogurt. It was only 26 degrees when I started but I felt better prepared and better fueled. I ran better from the start and averaged around 12 minutes per mile. I made up my mind I’d run up the hill at mile 6 I’d walked the previous week. My legs felt cold but eventually warmed up. My reward was the view, and these views never get old.

image

I ended up powering through and I didn’t stop for a walk break until mile 10! I did take several walk breaks but I was well fueled and I was still running well and I didn’t lose too much time off my overall pace. I was struggling a bit at the end but overall felt way better than the previous week! I hit 13 miles around 2:39 and walked a lot of mile 14, but I still finished nearly 6 minutes faster at 2:52:33. I wasn’t nearly as sore after in spite of doing a lot of house work that day!

image

I was starving for two days after my second 14. It makes sense though. I just had my two biggest mileage weeks probably ever with 31.6 miles and 30.5. I’m glad I don’t run this kind of mileage all the time!

image

I’ve been running on the treadmill during the week and I feel stronger. My legs were still tired Tuesday but I ran well. This morning I ran 5 miles pushing the pace and felt great after. My quads are generally sore lately, but in a good way.

image

Just over two weeks out I am feeling ready for race day! I will run 10 miles this weekend. Then I will taper!

image

I have used a training plan for the first time ever and it has had me running many more miles than ever! I will run 100-mile months two months in a row, which I have never done. Surely the training will help me have a great race! My last two half marathons in October 2012 and August 2014 were not my best efforts. In 2012 I was pregnant… but still slow! I was even slower in 2014 and I had to visit the medical tent both times.

image

I definitely expect Nov. 8, 2015, to be better. With that being said, here are my goals! A) Break 2:30. That’s the goal of my training plan. Its roughly an 11:30 pace. I haven’t run that fast in training but I do feel like I could on race day. B) 2:36… would be 12-minute pace. This one I am sure I can do if I don’t hit 2:30. The last time I had that sort of result was 2011 and 2012 when I was almost back at my PR paces just before I got pregnant with Peyton.

image

And if it just isn’t my day… goal C is to not end up in the medical tent! But I fully expect to reach goal A or B!

image

Leave a Reply

