Tomorrow

Doug and I went to bed after midnight in Tuesday. Really I could have gone to bed an hour or two earlier as I’d realized that what was happening was not what we wanted. To say I’m upset is an understatement.

In spite of being so tired already all week and that I wouldn’t get much sleep Tuesday night, I knew I had to get up and run Wednesday morning. I knew I needed that release and stress relief that running provides. As it turned out I slept very poorly and I was up before my alarm.

I’ve been running in the dark early mornings since about mid-September and I’ve been looking forward to the time change because I’d have the sunrise while I was out, even if that only lasts a week or two before it’s dark again.

Some groups I’m in on Facebook have been posting positivity in the wake of this week’s events. Wednesday, I didn’t post there  because I didn’t have anything. I really did, but I just didn’t see it at the time.

Wednesday’s run was fueled by sadness and rage. But I also saw beauty in that sunrise.

Two things popped in my head during that run. One is the line from Anne of Green Gables when Anne talks about Mrs. Lynde saying “the sun will go on rising or setting whether I pass geometry or not,” or something to that effect.

The other is from the movie Annie, “the sun’ll come out tomorrow.”

Cheesy as it is, it’s true. And while yesterday I was too raw and too upset and mad to really take consolation in that, that’s been at the front of my mind most of today.

The sun’ll come out tomorrow, so you gotta hang on til tomorrow, come what may. 

Those are some pretty good words to live by as we embark on this new reality we are confronted with. And silly as it is, I do feel comforted.

 

 

 

 

Tomorrow, tomorrow, I love ya tomorrow. You’re only a day away.

 

Leave a Reply

